Side Events

Side Events to the 9th Alternative Mining Indaba, Cape Town 2018

All venues are on the Conference Floor of the Double Tree Hotel, 32 Brickfield Rd, Woodstock – unless otherwise indicated.

Sunday 4 February 2018

Time Event Hosts Venue RSVP
10:00 – 17:00 Workshop:
Introductory training on international norms on business and human rights – How to use UN frameworks and community-based mechanisms to hold mining companies accountable
Swedwatch
Diakonia, Swedwatch & Source International
Harlem RSVP to:
Åsa Beckius
asa.beckius@diakonia.se
Maximum 20 participants.

Monday 5 February 2018

Time Event Hosts Venue RSVP
13:00 – 14:00 Dialogue: Mining for Sustainable Development – Vulnerabilities Identified in the Mining Application Processes – A Regional Perspective

“Corruption Watch has been part of a global research initiative into risks and vulnerabilities in the mining application processes. The research project falls under the initiative of Transparency International called Mining for Sustainable Development (“M4SD”) which aims to strengthen transparency and accountability in the application stage of mining operations, and to positively influence best practices in the mining sector. With this presentation we aim to unpack the vulnerabilities identified in the various African countries and diverse mining sectors”

Transparency International and Corruption Watch Executive Boardroom RSVP: Mashudu Masutha mashudum@corruptionwatch.org.za
18:30 Publication Launch:
“Carrying the costs – Human rights impacts in communities affected by platinum mining in South Africa, and the responsibilities of companies providing mining equipment”Followed by:
Introduction to UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights (UNGPs) and community based monitoring
Swedwatch
Diakonia, Swedwatch & Source International
Queens 1 & 2 Inquiries to: olof@swedwatch.org or asa.beckius@diakonia.se
18:30 Publication Launch:
The Impact of Extractives on Water in Southern Africa and, Trans-Border Resource Conflicts (DRC, Uganda, Angola)
OSISA Central 1 & 2 Moratuoa Thoko MoratuoaT@osisa.org
18:30 Zimbabwe Country Caucus Meeting ZELA Executive Boardroom Mezzanine Level Nyaradzo Mutonhori nyaradzo@zela.org
18:30 Presentation:
A Regional Analysis Report
Assessing and documenting existing national mining legal frameworks and policies in Zimbabwe, Botswana, Malawi, Tanzania, Angola, Zambia, South Africa and Mozambique, against Africa Mining Vision and SADC Mining policy
AFRODAD Central 3 Emmanuella Matare emmanuella@afrodad.co.zw
18:30 Discussion:
AMV – Fiscal Benefits of Mining and the Advancements of Interests of Social Constituencies Affected by Mining.
TWN Africa Harlem Pauline Vande-Pallen pvpallen@twnafrica.org
18:30 Book Launch:
Illicit Financial Flows Research Series

[Additional download]
Trust Africa Piazza on Reception Level Gladys Madara madara@trustafrica.org

Tuesday 6 February 2018

Time Event Hosts Venue RSVP
13:00 Documentary Screening:
Destitute in our own land, the case of Nkandabwe
Center for Trade Policy and Development Executive Boardroom
Mezzanine Level
Isaiah Mbewe isaiah.mbewe@ctpd.org.zm
18:30 Workshop:
Global treaty and national laws: Protecting communities’ rights!
Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Central 1 Britta Becker, britta.becker@rosalux.org
18h30 Presentation:
Extracting the Data: Case Studies using the data in Australia, South Africa and Zimbabwe
Publish What You Pay Central 2 Jessie Cato Jessie.Cato@victas.uca.org.au
18:30 Launch:
Regional Advocacy Strategy
Norwegian Church Aid Queens 2 Dolly Hlongwane Dolly.Hlongwane@nca.no or Sarah Shija Sarah.Shija@nca.no
18:30 Advancing public health rights, claims and standards in mining EQUINET, SATUCC, SADC CNGO & Benchmarks Queens 1 EQUINET admin@tarsc.org
18:30 Panel Discussion: The Mining Royalties Dispensation for the Bakwena ba Mogopa Traditional Community, North West Province

“The Bakwena ba Mogopa Traditional Community represented by members of the Royal Family, both elected and of royal lineage, together with mining company’s and government representatives and legal experts will unpack the issues facing the Bakwena ba Mogopa in respect of the mining royalty dispensation”

Open Society Foundation and Corruption Watch Harlem Mashudu Masutha mashudum@corruptionwatch.org.za
18:30 Panel Discussion:

Mining Charter Intervention: Communities Right to Decide

Centre for Applied Legal Studies (CALS) Central 3 Robert Krause

Robert.Krause@wits.ac.za

Wednesday 7 February 2018

Time Event Hosts Venue RSVP
07:30 Breakfast Reception:
IRMA Launch Event
IRMA and IndustriALL Global Union Sun Square Hotel Glen Mpufane GMpufane@industriALL-Union.org